Resize up compute and memory servers

  • Last updated on: 2018-12-06
  • Authored by: Rackspace Support

Previous section: Resize standard and general purpose servers

This article shows you how to use the Cloud Control Panel to resize up a compute or memory server. Resizing a server changes the RAM and disk space allocation.

Note: Compute and memory servers can only be resized up. They can’t be resized down.

Use the following steps to resize up your servers:

  1. Log in to the Cloud Control Panel.

  2. In the top navigation bar, click Select a Product > Rackspace Cloud.

  3. Select Servers > Cloud Servers to view a list of your existing servers.

  4. Click the gear icon next to the server that you want to resize, and then click Resize.

    A pop-up window that lists your server size options displays.

  5. Select a new server size, and then click Resize Server.

    Note: Each server size has a different hourly cost for uptime, and the new cost goes into effect when the server resize process completes. This could mean that you pay different rates for the same server within a single billing cycle.

    A notification displays prompting you to verify the changes that you made to your system resources and that there was no adverse impact to your server.

  6. Verify that your server was resized correctly by remotely logging in to your server and verifying your system resources and filesystem integrity.

    Note: Verification is an important step because it is the last chance you have to revert to the original size and cancel any changes to your server.

    For a Linux server, you can Secure Shell (SSH) to either the public or private Internet Protocol (IP) address and run the commands df -h (hard disk usage) and free -m (available RAM memory) to verify the changes.

    For a Windows® server, additional steps are required to use additional space after resizing up. For more information, see Adding Disk Space After Resizing a Windows Server 2012 Cloud Server.

  7. After you have verified the system resources and checked your file systems, select Confirm to confirm the resize or Revert to revert to the original size.

    Confirming the resize changes the server status. The process is complete when the Status reads as Active, the Current Action is None, and the server has come back up from a reboot. Any web services that you had running might require you to log in and manually restart them.

    Note: Resizes are automatically confirmed after 24 hours. Therefore, you cannot revert a server after you have manually confirmed the resize or after 24 hours have passed.

Additional resources

For more information, see the following resources: