Rackspace Cloud DNS - Additional Resources

  • Last updated on: 2016-04-13
  • Authored by: Rackspace Support

Previous section: Rackspace Cloud DNS - API Example

For more information regarding the API, we encourage you to review the Rackspace Cloud DNS API documentation.

Supported Record Types

  • A - IPv4 address used to map hostnames to an IP address of the host.
  • CNAME (Canonical Name Record) - Points to another hostname that already has an A record associated with it. The CNAME record works like an alias.
  • MX - Used to specify a mail server that is responsible for accepting email messages on behalf of a recipient domain.
  • SOA - Specifies authoritative information about a domain, including the primary name server(s), the email of the domain administrator, the domain serial number, and TTL’s.
  • AAAA - IPv6 address used to map hostnames to an IP address of the host.
  • NS (Name Server) - NS records indicate where the domain’s DNS hosting services are located. It effectively delegates a domain to use a set of name servers.
  • TXT - This is a text record and is used primarily for SPF and DKIM records.
  • A SPF (Sender Policy Framework) record allows administrators to specify which hosts are allowed to send e-mail from a given domain by creating a specific SPF record in the public (DNS). Mail exchangers use the DNS to check that mail from a given domain is being sent by a host sanctioned by that domain’s administrator.
  • DomainKeys (DKIM) is a method for associating a domain name to an e-mail, thereby allowing an organization to take responsibility for a message in a way that can be validated by a recipient.
  • SRV - Used to define the location (hostname and port) of servers used for a specific service.

Next steps: Cloud DNS FAQ

Share this information: