Manage user permissions for Dedicated Hosting

  • Last updated on: 2019-01-14
  • Authored by: Kate Dougherty

This article explains user permissions for Dedicated Hosting and shows you how to manage these permissions.

You manage permissions in the MyRackspace portal under Account > Permissions.

Note: To access the Permissions area in the MyRackspace Portal and modify another user’s permissions, you must have either the Account Administrator permission or the Admin permission. The Account Administrator permission grants the user unlimited access to all sections of the MyRackspace Portal. The Admin permission (on a device or service) grants the user the ability to access and manage the device or service.

Categories of permissions

The following categories of permissions are available for Dedicated Hosting accounts:

  • Direct permissions: The permissions that grant the user direct access to account permissions, linked cloud accounts, devices, or services.

  • Effective permissions: The permissions that a user inherits as a result of their memberships in user and product groups.

Note: You can grant a user a combination of direct and effective permissions. MyRackspace uses the highest level of permission granted.

Methods for assigning permissions

You can assign permissions in the MyRackspace Portal in the following ways:

  • Assign by User: Enables you to select an individual and grant them access to account-level permissions, linked cloud accounts, devices, services, and product groups.

  • Assign by User Group: Enables you to select a group of users and grant them access to account-level permissions, linked cloud accounts, devices, services, and product groups.

  • Assign by Product: Enables you to select a linked cloud account, device, or service and assign users and user groups to that product.

  • Assign by Product Group: Enables you to select a group of accounts, devices, or services and assign users and user groups to that product group.

Manage groups

This section shows you how to manage groups.

Create a user group

Use the following steps to create a user group:

  1. Log in to the MyRackspace Portal.
  2. In the subnavigation bar, select Account > Permissions.
  3. At the top of the page, click Manage Groups.
  4. In the User Groups section, enter a name for the group, then click the green plus sign to create the group.
  5. On the new page that appears, select the Group Members that you want to add to the group and click Save Changes.

Create a product group

Use the following steps to create a product group:

  1. Log in to the MyRackspace Portal.
  2. In the subnavigation bar, select Account > Permissions.
  3. At the top of the page, click Manage Groups.
  4. In the Product Groups section, enter a name for the group, then click the green plus sign to create the group.
  5. On the new page that appears, select the accounts, devices, and services that you want to add to the group and click Save Changes.

Grant a user group access to a product group

Use the following steps to grant a user group access to a product group:

  1. Log in to the MyRackspace Portal.
  2. In the subnavigation bar, select Account > Permissions.
  3. In the User Groups section, select an existing user group.
  4. Click Assign by User at the top of the page (if it isn’t already the active tab).
  5. Click the Product Groups tab.

    A list of products appears.

  6. In the row for each product for which you want to assign permissions, select the radio button that corresponds to the permission level that you want to set for the product.

Grant a product group access to a user group

Use the following steps to grant a product group access to a user group:

  1. Log in to the MyRackspace Portal.
  2. In the subnavigation bar, select Account > Permissions.
  3. At the top of the page, click Assign by Product.
  4. In the Product Groups section, select an existing product group.
  5. Click the User Groups tab.

    A list of user groups appears.

  6. In the row for each user group for which you want to assign permissions, select the radio button that corresponds to the permission level that you want to set for the user group.

Delete a user or product group

Use the following steps to delete a user or product group:

  1. Click the arrow icon to the left of the user or product group.

    The row for that group expands.

  2. Click Edit Group.

  3. Select Actions > Delete Group.

Manage global permissions

The Global Permissions section enables you to make changes across your entire account.

Ticketing Settings enable you to control the tickets that your users have permission to see when those tickets concern one or more devices.

The following table shows the ticketing settings that are required for common actions or views:

Ticketing setting Functionality
Flexible Ticket Viewing (default setting) Enables users to see tickets that include a device that they have permission to view. For example, if a user has access to device A, they see all of the tickets that include device A, even if another device is on the ticket. If device C is later added to the ticket and the user does not have access to device C, the user can still see the ticket.
Strict Ticket Viewing Requires users to have access to all of the devices on a ticket in order to see that ticket. For example, if a ticket includes device A and device B, then the user must have permissions to both devices to see the ticket. If device C is later added to the ticket and the user does not have access to device C, the user is no longer be able to see the ticket.

How permissions impact the user experience for tickets

The following table shows the permissions that a user needs to perform common tasks with tickets:

Permission required Task
View Tickets or Edit Tickets permission View or include another user on an account ticket (a ticket that doesn't have a device or service associated with it)
View, Edit, or Admin permission to that device View or include another user on a ticket that has a device associated with it
View, Edit, or Admin permission to that service View or include another user on a ticket that has a service associated with it (such as tickets for Managed Antivirus)

Share this information: