Delete your server

  • Last updated on: 2016-06-21
  • Authored by: Rackspace Support

When you are done using your server and are ready to delete it, you can do this through the Cloud Control Panel. If you have already saved a backup image of your server, you can use that image to create a new server at a future time. That server will be an exact clone of your current server at the time the backup image was saved, but it will have a different IP address.

Note: We recommend using Cloud Backup and Cloud Images before you delete your cloud server instance to provide options for recovering your server and its configuration at a later date.

Delete a server

  1. Log in to the Cloud Control Panel.

  2. In the top navigation panel, click Servers > Cloud Servers.

  3. Click the gear icon next to the server which you want to delete and select Delete Server.

You are asked for confirmation before the server and its data are deleted permanently.

To create a new server from the saved image of the server you deleted, see the article Create an image of a server and restore a server from a saved image.

Continue the conversation in the Rackspace Community.